Offices How Do I
About Us Services
Click to Home
Go To Search
Natural Gas Task Force


Staff Contact

Susan B. Hannegan
Assistant Director, Planning & Community Development Office
(814) 355-6791

The Centre County Natural Gas Task Force serves as an ad hoc committee formed in 2010 by the Centre County Board of Commissioners to “address public and private sector impacts and opportunities for natural gas in Centre County”. It is comprised of four sub-committees: Economic Development, Education, Environment / Infrastructure of Pre- and Post-Site Development, and Public Policy, Planning and Legal Issues.  Although the task force was formed as a result of increased drilling activity in the Marcellus Shale formation, the county addresses impacts and opportunities associated with all natural gas activity. Centre County is “home” to nearly 1000 natural gas wells of less than 6,000 feet in depth and 63 wells drilled to the Marcellus Shale formation, ranging from 8,000 – 10,000 feet below ground.

Meeting Schedule

In 2016, the Centre County Natural Gas Task Force will meet the second Monday of the month, at 4:00 pm, at the Central PA Institute of Science and Technology, 540 N. Harrison Road, Pleasant Gap, PA 16823 on the following dates:

  • March 14
  • July 11
  • November 14

    View Meeting Agendas & Minutes

    Thirteen members appointed by the Board of Commissioners.

    Term Length
    3 Years
    Current Members

    Term Expires
    Susan Benedict   February 28, 2017
    Dan Fisher   February 28, 2017
    Bob McDaniel   February 28, 2017
    Jeffrey Kern   February 28, 2018
    Todd Taylor
    February 28, 2018
    Art Dangel
    February 28, 2018
    Tim Zeigler   February 28, 2018
    Steven Greer   February 28, 2019
    Kenneth Hall   February 28, 2019
    Vacant February 28, 2017
    John Ferguson   February 28, 2018
    February 28, 2019
    February 28, 2019


    Sub-Committee Members are appointed by the Board of Commissioners. Sub-committees have no term limit.
    Economic Development
    • Mike Schaul
    • Steve Lyncha
    • John Spychalski
    • John Rodgers
    • Jack Mulfinger
    • Joe Urbanick
    • Matt Blymire
    • Louis Stubbs III
    • Dean Lawrence

    • Vacant

    • Mary Carol Frier
    • Joe Hart
    • Dick Mulfinger
    • Bruce Snyder
    • Andrew Sicree
    • James Walker
    • Colleen Williams
    • Alison Amaismeirer
    • Mike Welch
    • Emily Gette-Doyle

    Public Policy, Planning, and Legal Issues
    • Rob Balsamo

    Ex Officio Members

    • Matt Wise for Senator Corman
    • Mitzi Gallagher for Rep. Mike Hanna
    • Sue Mascolo for Rep. Scott Conklin

    Liaison Members
    • Douglas D'Amore - DCNR Bureau of Forestry
    • Dan Vilello - DEP North Central Office
    • Paula Ballaron - SRBC Regulatory Program Director
    • Rick Lamkie - DEP Bureau of Mining and Reclamation