Centre County Marriage License Guidelines
These guidelines are to be followed in regards to the issuance of a marriage license in Centre County, Pennsylvania.
- Each applicant for a marriage license must appear in person before the Clerk of Orphans’ Court in order to complete the application for a license.
- There is a 3-day waiting period between the application for a marriage license and issuance of the same, except in cases of extraordinary circumstances when a Judge of the Orphans’ Court may waive this requirement and authorize a license to be issued at any time before the third day following the making of the application.
- If either applicant is under the age of eighteen years, you may not apply for a marriage license under Pennsylvania State Law.
- If either applicant has been previously married and that marriage was dissolved by divorce, a copy of the divorce decree must be presented at the time of application. If the previous marriage was dissolved by death, the date of death is required.
- A marriage license is valid for a period of sixty (60) days following its issuance.
- Applicant will be required to show current government ID (driver’s license or passport).
- A fee of $50.00 is required at the time of application (Cash, Check, Credit/Debit and Money Orders accepted).